Spicy jam, spicy books, & *very* spicy takes

A list of things that I've been loving lately...

Just a reminder that if you want an *extra* exclusive letter each month, subscribe to the paid version below for the really juicy bits and bobs. I would also be ever ever grateful for your support because…damn this is hard! If you’re already subscribed, THANK YOU!

This newsletter is going to be a little different from those of the past few months. Unlike the somewhat goofy, very satirical, weeks planned and edited essays that I usually share, today marks two weeks of SOIRÉE being out in the world and WHAT a two weeks it has been!

The past 14 days have seen: 

  • Loss, tears, and grief—put away then spontaneously felt

  • The whirlwind of emotions and pressures that come with having a baby (launching a company) and now having to raise it (do all the things that have been marinating on your ever growing To Do list)

  • And countless doctor’s office injury frustrations

But they have also held some of the most wonderful days:

So, instead of “writing,” I am simply going to share the things that are making me smile, the words I’ve scribbled in notebooks and on the backs of receipts, and a few of the things that I’ve been craving, loving, and thinking about, because SOIRÉE isn’t just a dinner party. It’s a way of living. Of appreciating the little things in life. Of everyday treats. Of turning errands into an adventure. SOIRÉE is the art of romanticizing all of life’s littlest little things. 

What I’m reading

What I’ve bought

  • SOIRÉE Merch

    • It’s LIVE! One of the most exciting parts of launching was getting to launch with the sweatshirts, tees, and hats that I have been designing for the past few months. And THE most exciting and surreal thing that’s happened over the past two weeks is getting to see the pieces on my friends IRL. I write this while wearing The SOIRÉE New York pullover, and I am so wildly grateful to everyone who has ordered so far for the incredible love and support!

  • Giadzy Celebration Box

    • Every “I want to play in the kitchen” kid knows Giada. The Food Network served as our answer to “after school cartoons.” And if I learned one lesson from Giada, it’s that however simple or complex, a good pasta can make anything better, so it’s no surprise that her Giadzy boxes have the…best pasta around. I have been obsessed with the Paccheri. 

  • Papier Planners (Use the code STINGLIKEALI for a discount on your first order!)

    • Every writer has a favorite notebook brand. For a long time, mine has been Moleskine. While I still love the classic feel of an unlined soft cover journal, Papier has brought an element of fun into my ever growing collection. I also love the fact that the brand has a wide range of products that fit every need (or whim or desire!). From recipe books to wellness journals, guest books, stationary and more, they’ve got it all. This planner has been a saving grace as I’ve navigated being a one woman show while building and launching and continuing to grow SOIRÉE!

  • Mochidoki Carrot Cake, Matcha, and Black Sesame Mochi

    • Sometimes at the end of a long day or after dinner, you crave something sweet, but the idea of whipping something up is simply not in the cards. Enter—Mochidoki’s creative mochi flavors. They are perfect to keep in your freezer for when you need a little treat, to break out when you have guests, or to bring to a friend since they make the perfect budget but still cool, tasty but won’t overshadow the host’s plans, supremely unique hostess gift. 

  • Homesick Candles

    • Candles are one of those things that you can never have enough of. For so long I would “save” my nice ones for a rainy day…literally, but this year I finally decided that “live is for living all of the days” and I would rather enjoy the things I have rather than being stressed that they’ll finish (a mentality that has taken a major hit on my face mask and tinned fish collections). This has meant that this year, I have bought, burned, and re-purchased a lot of Homesick candles. They smell like nostalgia, bringing up deep seated memories of places, times, and celebrations, and have a burn time of up to 80 hrs so you get a great bang for your buck. This New York one is perfectly autumnal, cozy, and crisp (and is burning as I type!). 

  • Live Tinted Hueglow

    • With summer coming to a close, that tanned, footloose, and fancy-free feeling is quickly fleeting. One thing that has been helping me hold on just a little bit longer is the Live Tinted Hueglow in the shade Dusk. Yes, my proud South Asian heritage keeps me brown all year round, but the bronze-y inner glow that mixing a few drops of this shimmer into your foundation gives is the subtle summer shine that I need to feel like my glowiest self. It also acts as a great primer or midday refresher for your morning makeup!

  • Graza and Kosterina Olive Oil

    • Nothing says “I’m a grown up now” quite like being excited about EVOO, but nothing makes cooking as fun as things that come in a squeezy or suuuuper skinny bottle. Graza is the trendiest olive oil on the market these days, so I was hesitant to believe that it actually tasted the best, but tied with Kosterina’s authentic Greek oil, they are my two faves that I return to time and time again.

  • Vellabox

    • Finding a candle that ticks all of the boxes—smells good, is good for your home, and good for the planet is no easy feat. Finding one that is customizable to your specific tastes (you get to pick the type of wax and how the scent presents) and will show up to your door in a package of other similar scents is even harder. Vellabox takes the guesswork out of the process with their subscription candle boxes. First you take a 6 question quiz so the brand can get to know what you like and then you get to pick out your box! The boxes start at $12 each, which is outstanding considering that candles can cost up to $200, ship free, and have a 100% happiness guarantee. 

People who are making me happy, making me think, or making me want to be best friends

  • Eli Rallo

    • Despite never having met, Eli is one of those people who feels like everyone’s best friend. With a new book coming out in December, I Didn't Know I Needed This: The New Rules for Flirting, Feeling, and Finding Yourself (be sure to preorder!), she has used her platform, her experiences, and her sharp witticisms and charm to become Gen Z’s answer to all of the SATC characters wrapped into one. If anyone embodies the “romanticize every aspect of every day”nature of SOIRÉE, it’s her. Honestly, Eli for @justsoiree President!

  • Robyn DelMonte (GBT)

    • I’ve been following GirlBossTown, Robyn, for quite a while now, but every single time I watch one of her videos, I feel like a new level of my brain unlocks. Her frank delivery and boundless creativity make her predictions, insights, tips, and PR ideas so uniquely her, while also being brand-specific, well researched, timely, and made to meet audiences where they are but also know where they are going and what they are going to like, want, think, and crave before they do. It would be an actual dream to work together!

  • Claire Din

    • Claire Din, or Condiment Claire, is another creator who I feel like I’ve known for years despite never having met. From our shared condiment obsession and our multi-hyphenate, third culture kid upbringings (in many of the same cities) to our love of fashion, history, and farmers market outings, Claire is one of those “internet friends” who somehow just gets it. All of the “its”—the nostalgia of a morning Petit Suisse blanketed in sugar, the frequent urge to cancel plans in favor of playing in the kitchen, watching football, or the Grand Prix, the way that butter simply makes the world go round, the love of foodie trivia and the perfectly tied scarf, and the need to make guides of where to find the best [croissant, tinned fish, snicky snack, juice, or stinky cheese] in any given town. Claire embodies the love of art, food, culture, exploration, storytelling, and boundless appreciation for all of life’s “littles” part of SOIRÉE.

  • Pigmamiii

    • And finally, Heather Hurst, Pigmami. Heather embodies the elegance of SOIRÉE. Her style is the perfect combination of youthful modernity and the nostalgia of a different time. Heather epitomizes graceful confidence, fun, and spunk. Her knowledge of fashion and design, taste for interior decor and the perfect bag to elevate any outfit, appreciation for the classics that paved the way for many of the “trends” that we know and (sometimes) love today, and her delicate ability to impart her wisdoms but never judge or impose has made her my comfort creator of late. 

What I’m eating and drinking

  • Marmite and thick salted butter on brioche

  • Cardamom and cinnamon added to my coffee grounds

  • Lots of jam (I made a big batch of strawberry peach chipotle jam last weekend and have been loving the sweet and spicy combo)

  • Caprese salad with a side of smoked sardines for a little snack (these Jose Gourmet ones are…chefs, kiss)

  • Horseradish pickles that I keep re-making and now have 3 jars of

  • Lots of delicata squash

  • And the matcha Mochidoki as a treat!

What I’m craving