It's Friday & there was an earthquake (???) so here's a listicle

My response to the apocalypse is to share the things I have liked, read, made, listened to, and consumed in the past few weeks...

Yesterday I was sad. So heavy and anxious that I listened to two audiobooks in their entirety and vacillated between scrolling through chandeliers on the Anthropologie website (they are stomach-curlingly expensive, so if you have any other recommendations, please let me know) and throwing up the nothing (two pink Starbursts, three cornichons, and the remainder of yesterday’s London fog) in my stomach.

I’ve decided that today has to be better.

In an effort to enforce said decision, below is a list of things that I’ve been liking—first instinct, no thoughts, just vibes edition:

Things that have improved my life

  • Eco-Friendly Compostable Coffee Cups: I use one of these every morning on my morning Gatsby walk and it’s game-changing (though prone to above average hyperbole usage, I don’t use this word lightly). The morning ritual of it all makes it so I actually look forward to waking up, and there’s something so romantic about pottering around your neighborhood first thing in the morning and seeing all of the familiar faces. Proof:

  • Malin Goetz Eucalyptus Hand + Body Wash: The smell lingers all day. Invigorating is the only word to describe it.

  • Supergoop Glow Screen (Golden Hour) + Fenty Beauty Eaze Drop Blurring Skin Tint: I am not a foundation girl, so this combo does the trick. It evens out my skin without feeling like I’m wearing “stuff” and has SPF.

  • Intimissimi Silk Slip with Lace: There’s nothing that feels more glamorous than sleeping in silk. This slip feels dramatic and silky and sultry and all the other words that make you think of shaved legs, bubble baths, and champagne. I have the Ice Grey color, but am lusting after the classic black!

  • The Modern Dane Organic European Linen Duvet Cover: I am an admittedly bad sleeper, but one thing that has helped 10-fold is sleeping under a linen duvet. I have had the green set on my bed for 3 years now and get countless compliments on the color and feel. I’m moving next month and getting a bigger bed so am aching to get the white duvet with the Lyseblå (Hørblomst) blue sheets.

Things I’ve bought

  • Osmo 5-Peppercorn Blend: No, I will never shut up about it. I love it a lot and will gush over spices just as much as I so please, thankyouverymuch. It is pretty and grinds well. That’s all. (code: JUSTSOIREE)

  • Grown Alchemist Sweet Orange, Cedarwood and Sage Hand Wash & Amass Four Thieves Soap: The idea of finishing a whole hand soap feels inconceivable, for some reason, though I have managed to finish both and am very sad about it. I keep the Amass in my kitchen and the Grown Alchemist in my bathroom and have gotten infinite compliments on both.

  • Gold Claw Clips: They’re chicer than plastic. No further questions, your honor.

  • Linen Tablecloth: I have now gotten two of these tablecloths and frankly, I can’t be stopped. They are shockingly great quality for the price!

  • Euthymol Toothpaste: Is it strange that I like pink toothpaste from the 1800s? Maybe. But it is the best and nothing gives you that “I could probably freeze the Sahara in one breath” cool, clean feeling the same way.

Things I’ve been doing & thinking about

  • Taking Gatsby for a late afternoon mile or two run: This serves the purpose of an espresso shot because he sets the pace, thus spiking my heart rate, and honestly battles the midday slump big time.

  • Having easy, smooth brain time with friends: Until the past few years, I had a habit of needing to talk to fill silences, worried that people would get bored of me or wouldn’t be “having fun” if we weren’t gabbing or giggling. I’m finding that more security in my relationships has lent itself to more silence and just passively enjoying one another’s company.

  • Giving myself a little more grace: The past 6 months have felt like a game of wack-a-mole. If it’s not one injury it’s another. If it’s not that, it’s my mama going through the scariest health crisis ever (and handling it with unimaginable strength and grace that I can only dream of having one day). If it’s not that it’s feeling romantically lonely. And if it’s none of these things, it’s the anxiety of working ruthlessly to try to build SOIRÉE into what I dream it to be and feeling like I’m chasing my tail in the process. On top of all this, the constant conscious effort that it takes to stay balanced and “okay” with a brain that feels like it’s always working against me makes every day an uphill battle. I’ve been generally quite happy recently, but it’s taken a lot of choosing to be, so I’ve been giving myself a bit more grace when it comes to sleeping early, cancelling plans, and just wanting to be by myself.

  • Tailoring: There is nothing better than taking your clothes to the tailor and having them fitted properly. You get a whole new wardrobe of things that you already love. If you’re in NYC, I love Alba in FiDi!

  • Spring & Summer Dressing: For some reason I feel more excited for summer outfits than I have in years past. I think as my style has evolved towards brights, whites, and more classic, coastal silhouettes (Think: Talented Mr. Ripley or Grace Kelly on the Riviera), the idea of creams, monochrome, and colors have been speaking to me.

Things I’ve been wearing

  • Maison Margiela REPLICA From the Garden Eau de Toilette: This scent is so fresh and floral and perfect for spring. I usually stick to woodier, smokier fragrances, but this one is going to be a staple for the warmer months.

  • Rowing Blazers Sweater: I’ve wear the Jack of Hearts sweater at least once a week and it’s probably my favorite thing I own, but am lusting after this Babar one!

  • Merit Cream Blush: I have been using the Soft Peach shade for a while and it’s the best no-makeup flush for lips and cheeks. I find that a lot of cream blushes feel heavy on top of foundation, wear off throughout the day, or hold on to highlighter when you try to layer it on top, but this one somehow beats the odds. I think the peachy shade is a bit light on melanated skin, so I think I might try the Soft Burgundy or Mood shade next.

  • Richer Poorer Boxy Crop Tee: Everyone has their ride or die white tee and this is mine. This t-shirt has come with me to a dozen countries, withstood hundreds of washes and bleaches, and has only gotten softer over time. After 3 years of wear the white has gone a bit…loved, but this white tee wins White Tee-ing.

Things I’ve been eating & drinking

Things I’ve been reading & listening to

And that’s all she wrote!

xx Saan